And now for something completely different

Okay, so you know I write a blog about being a bit mental? Well this one is all a bit odd, because this post is about not being particularly mental…. well, at least for a little while.

The normal state of affairs in the WeeGee household of a work day morning goes something like this: alarm; snooze (repeat indefinitely until panic about being late kicks in); moment of okay; rubbish nonsense and mental stuff rears its head and washes over self; mental battle with self commences; switch on radio* and say “Good Morning Shaun”; much chaos, tripping over a cat who claims to be STARVING and running late ensues; morning over; day continues.

I’m used to it. It’s a routine if nothing else. But this morning was slightly different.

My alarm went off, but instead of hitting snooze I just got myself up. I switched on the radio and said “Good Morning Shaun” and went about what is normally chaos in a not particularly chaotic way (of course, the cat still claimed to be STARVING).

So there I was listening to the radio wondering if I could wear both a denim jacket and denim shoes in the same ensemble with this song in the background:

Which was just fine by me.

And then it occurred to me that I’d been awake for more than an hour and it hadn’t occurred to me that I was mental …. The only difficulty is that you can’t un-occur something once it has occurred. But it was nice whilst it lasted.

(By the way, the answer to the denim shoes, denim jacket conundrum is that it looks okay but leaves you feeling like you are trying to ‘do a trendy vicar’ by wearing something conservative whilst chucking as much denim as you have at it as if to prove that you are a cool kid really underneath it all.)

*The Radio Six Music Breakfast Show is the only breakfast show worth listening to as far as I’m concerned.

8 comments

    1. Maybe that’s how you get to normal – first half a morning, then a whole morning, then a morning and afternoon etc. You never know 🙂 xx

How about a little chat?

