See this post?

See this post here? The one you’re reading at this very moment? Well it’s a special post because it’s post number ONE HUNDRED on How do you eat an elephant. What a momentous occasion……

To understand quite how momentous an occasion this is you have to know something about me: I’m rubbish at seeing things through. For a start the slightest little thing can defeat me and if I get defeated I give up completely. I also have a habit of just losing interest. Something can be the best thing ever one day and then completely forgotten the next. Finally, I’m just a bit rubbish when it comes to finishing things – I’ve got no staying power! Here’s an example. I’ve been knitting a cardigan (the same cardigan) since Christmas 2009. I’ve got a back and a side and a half so far. I expect to finish it in time for winter 2015. I hope it’s a cold one because it’s a super cosy cardigan.

But I digress. You don’t want to hear about my cosy cardigan.

I bet you’re wondering what I’m going to do with post ONE HUNDRED aren’t you?*

I’ll tell you what I’m going to do.

I’m going to accept this lovely award:

And then tell you about seven things that WeeGee loves.

The rules of the Seven things about me are thus:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Share seven things about yourself.
  3. Nominate other bloggers you think deserve the award, and post on their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated.

Angel Fractured at the Mirth of Despair nominated me for this one a while back. Thank you Angel Fractured for a) the lovely nomination, b) the lovely comments you leave on my blog and c) your own lovely blog and other lovely blog.

Here are seven things that WeeGee loves

1. I love my cat

Gryff is the best cat in the world. That, by the way, is a simple matter of fact.

He’s an odd little fellow but that just makes me love him all the more. He’s frightened of so many weird and wonderful things that never a day goes by that I don’t find something else he’s afraid of. Today for example I discovered he’s afraid on me emptying the coins out of my purse.

Although he’s nervous he’s also a happy little soul – full of chit chat, and purrs and those funny little gremlin noises cats make when they’re interested in something. He’s a brave boy when it comes to hunting insects down and he has a special talent for getting himself stuck on top of the wardrobe moments before I need to leave the flat.

Gryff has been in my life for six years – which is to say he’s been there through thick and through thin. I honestly don’t know how I would have coped with the last year and a half if it hadn’t been for Gryff.

Here is Gryff looking grumpy because he has been disturbed from his slumber for an impromptu photo opportunity:

Here he is again wondering when the impromptu photo opportunity is going to end  and thinking I’m an idiot:

Finally, here he is in a variation of croissant cat position**:

Dear Gryff. I love you. From WeeGee xx

2. I love Monk

I don’t just love Monk – I’m obsessed with Monk – which is quite apt really. I’ve watched every single episode AT LEAST three times. That’s how obsessed I am.

I love Monk because I love the central character, Adrian Monk. I love that he is so sad and broken but also so kind and funny at the same time. I love the way that he almost gets to where he needs to be but then his brain gets in the way and he ends up back at square one.

Maybe Adrian Monk reminds me of myself? Maybe Monk just makes me laugh? Maybe I just love Monk for its own sake. Whichever it is – I love Monk.

3. I love my blogging buddies

Before WordPress came to WeeGee land, I was dubious about online friendships.

I’m not anymore.

I’ve ‘met’ a lot of people here in the World of Blog and (as we’ve already established) I’ve come to care about them all a great deal. Here’s the other thing though…. meeting people, and getting to know them, and forming relationships with them – even if it is online – has really helped me to prove something to myself.

My life is better for the people I’ve met on WordPress. I love all the courage and humour and strength that I find in the blogs I read. It almost makes me think that I don’t want to be normal because normal people have none of the awesomeness and wonderfulness that the mentals do.

At this point I want to give a special ‘shout out’ to my brain twin and fellow alien – Carrie at Hello Sailor. Who’d ever have thunk that there would be two of us eh? I reckon we could be a force to be reckoned with xx

4. I love balsamic vinegar

I don’t know when I ‘discovered’ balsamic vinegar, or what my taste buds did before that momentous day. All I can say is…. what is life without balsamic vinegar? It’s an amazing foodstuff. I love it. Love it, love it, love it. Yum yum (for my tum)

Here, by the way, is the best balsamic that money can buy***:

5. I love the Olympics

Where do I start?!

I had no idea that I was going to love the Olympics being in London until the Olympics were in London and I can’t imagine a day coming along that is better than my day out at the Olympics, I really can’t. Ever. As long as I live. It was way too amazing for words…..

Fortuitously, I’ve been on annual leave for Olympic fortnight and I was going to write a post about all the fun I’ve had watching all kinds of weird, bizarre and wonderful sports – like rowing, and cycling, and pole vaulting, and the modern pentathalon, and HORSES. DANCING. TO MUSIC. But instead I’ve got two words for you:

Mo Farrah.

That is all.

6. I love Frank Turner

Okay, so I know I go on about this all the time, but I love Frank Turner. I truly do. Frank Turner’s music makes me feel like I belong even though I live in a world that I don’t belong in.

Frank Turner’s music has brought me through some pretty awful and dark days – it’s been like a faithful companion to me and has provided something solid to hold on to when everything else was turning into nothing.

I love Frank Turner. I love his music.

Here is Frank Turner doing some music:

7. I love this guy

This is Morgan Parra (the little French kicker) he’s quite handsome, no?

There you go then. Now you know seven things that I love and you have experienced my 100th post.

As for nominations – I thought I’d pass this one on to:

The Depressed Moose

Just a thought

Dorothy

Buckwheatrisk

Madness42

Meandanxiety

Dramajunkiee

If indeed they want it!

Hundreds and hundreds of love from WeeGee xx

*Okay, you’re probably not – it’s just me that’s a bit over excited isn’t it?!

**It took approximately one week’s worth of stalking him to get this photo!

***If you don’t have much money!

24 comments

  1. Thanks for your lovely comment about me! 🙂

    I liked seeing the weird sports during the Olympics, too. Things like archery and shooting. Handball and water polo. Shot put. Jumping. The diving was amazing . . . especially the synchronized diving.

    I wonder if people can really make a living at doing things like shot put.

  2. Hi WeeGee!

    I’m very interested in hearing about your cardigan, considering that I like to knit too. Knitters unite! Lol

    And congrats on the 100th post, and on the award. So congrats all around!

    Thinking of you lovely and sending warm thoughts your way. (((WeeGee)))

    -Brandic

    Ps your cat is amazing

  3. Congratulations! 🙂 LOL – just had to share I had a cross-stitch project I started and finally decided to give it to St. Vincent de Paul’s thrift store AFTER 20 YEARS! I figured someone out there will finish it…or not…LOL!

    You are quite a delightful soul, WeeGee, I am sure I’m not alone in my gratitude for your being here and sharing your delightful self with this world. 🙂

  4. Yay so glad to get a picture to go with the name I learnt! though to be honest… I’m struggling with pronounciation??? Griff?…. Grieff?… lol You and my partner would get on like a house on fire purely because of your love for balsamic vinegar. He refuses to buy anything but the best and puts it on anything. Though I have to admit, when he puts just a touch on salmon it is nice!! If you like salmon, that is… Congrats on the big 100!! You centarian you! xx

  5. AHHHHHHHHHHH I LOVE CROISSANT CAT GRYFF! That made me so excited 🙂 Can you tell? I just have to go and look at it again……. and again…… Croissant cats = best invention ever 😀
    I really never thought there was another one of me. Just adds to the alien theory. Maybe there are more of us…… xox

How about a little chat?

