The longish story

Hmm. So here I am, trying to write something about ‘me’. I’m finding it kinda difficult because there are several instances of ‘me’. It may be a bit rambling but nevertheless, I shall do my best not to miss anything out. I’ll leave the mental bit to the very end, because it isn’t the best bit and I say enough about it elsewhere anyway.

As is customary I’ll start at the beginning. I was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1979 making me 32 as I write this but possibly an older age by the time you come to read it. It also makes me Scottish. I am very proud to be Scottish even though I no longer speak with a Glaswegian accent most of the time.

I’m a girl (more accurately I’m a woman, but it felt too grown up for my liking) and I live in a little village in the South East of England with the love of my life – Mr Awesome Thing Number Five – and the apple of my eye – Gryff THE BEST CAT IN THE WORLD.

I’ve studied English, Information Management and Law at University (not all at the same time) and have an embarrassment of qualifications. Mr Wise says that’s because I’m yet to decide what I want to be when I grow up and I think that’s an excellent point.

Fiction is the love of my life and music is my passion. I try to read fiction every day not just because I love it but also because it is good for me. I’m a little bit over enthusiastic about BBC Radio 6 Music, especially the Breakfast Show featuring Sean Keavney with whom I am a little bit in love. On a similar note I think the Adam and Joe show is both the best and funniest thing on the planet. If somebody asks me what my favourite book is, I die a little bit inside, because how can you pick a favourite from so many. My favourite music includes: The Super Furry Animals, Idlewild, Frank Turner and Tracey Chapman amongst too many others to mention.

I like all kinds of other things including:

  • Canadian Writers
  • Kettle Chips
  • Knitting
  • Walking
  • Frogs
  • Balsamic vinegar

There are few things I don’t like such as:

  • Mushrooms
  • Moths
  • Bad manners
  • Lifts
  • Bare feet
  • Idiots

I’m mostly a shy and quiet person, which means my circle of friends is quite small – it takes me a while to get used to people but I like to think I’m worth it in the end. I tell a lot of jokes and I personally find myself hilarious. I’m a total neat freak. Sometimes I care too much for my own good and I’m rubbish at goodbyes and endings.

Sometimes I get depressed, which is to say I suffer from depression; I struggle with food a little bit, which is to say I’m recovering from an eating disorder; sometimes I hurt myself on purpose, which is to say I self harm. Apparently I don’t trust too well so I disassociate and avoid forming attachments. I’m told this a personality disorder but I think it’s just a little bit of fear.

I forgot to mention that I love poetry, follow politics and care a great deal about civil liberties. I suppose it’s likely that I have missed some other stuff out too and I hope that there are one or two things that I don’t know about myself yet.

19 comments

  1. Nice to meet you. I’m Rachel- also born 1979. From Norwich UK. Diagnosed Bipolar, but anxiety is more of a problem at the moment. Also have some food issues although never diagnosed with an eating disorder. Went to University of Leeds. Film geek. And I love Kettle Chips 🙂

How about a little chat?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s